All parents care about the safety of their child, especially while traveling the highways and roads of Texas. As careful as we can be while driving, we can't be certain that others on the road are being just as cautious when it comes to avoiding a Texas car accident. Even more scary is worrying if that semi-driver who is riding your bumper is doing everything they can to avoid a truck accident.
How Can You Keep Your Child Safe From A Car Accident In Texas?
Any child under the age of 8 years old must be securely buckled in a federally approved car seat while the vehicle is being operated, unless that child is more than 4’9” tall.
Safety laws are put into place to keep accidents and injuries at a minimum. That is why it is important to buy the proper car seat for a child and to follow the child car seat safety laws. Failure to use an appropriate child car seat in Texas can result in a fine not less than $25 and not more than $250.
Guidelines To Followed When Buying A Car Seat
- Birth to 1 year old and up to 35 pounds:
- Use a rear-facing seat suitable for your child’s height and weight.
- Make sure you check the height and weight capacity of your car seat and follow the installation and operating instructions carefully.
- 1 year old to 4 years old and 20 pounds to 40 pounds:
- Use a forward-facing seat for as long as is recommended by the manufacturer.
- 4 years old to 8 years old and over 40 pounds:
- Use a booster seat.
Picking the right car seat for your child can save their life. Be sure to follow these guidelines when buying a car seat for your child and remember to replace a car seat after it has expired. Texas Seatbelt Law, Transportation Code 545.412, explains Child Passenger Safety Seat Systems.
Have You Been Injured In A Texas Car Accident?
If you've been hurt in a Texas car accident you need to speak with an experienced car accident lawyer as soon as possible. Contact us online or call our Colleyville office directly at 817.380.4888 to schedule your free consultation.