In this article we will be outlining the charges that are associated with a DWI accident in Texas. Our Bedford, TX drunk driving crash attorneys know that as a crash victim you have many questions. We hope that this article will answer many of them.
The criminal case against the drunk driver is separate from any civil lawsuit you choose to file. However, understanding the penalties the driver may face can help give you some peace of mind. If you are ready to speak with an attorney about your legal options after your crash with a drunk driver please contact a lawyer with the Hart Law Firm for your free consultation.
Texas DWI Crash Penalties
Drunk driving crash penalties in Texas are considered felonies. Both charges involve high fines, jail time and community service.
- Intoxication Assault- This charge is a third degree felony. The Texas penal code reads: A person commits an offense if the person, by accident or mistake, while operating a motor vehicle in a public place while intoxicated, by reason that intoxication causes serious bodily injury to another. In this case serious bodily injury means, "an injury that creates a substantial risk of death or protracted loss or impairment of function of any bodily member or organ". Basically, if a drunk driver hits you and you or a passenger in your car are seriously injured, they driver may very well be facing a felony charge of intoxication assault.
- Fine- The fine for this charge is not to exceed $10,000
- Jail- Jail time for this offence is to be not less than two years and not more than 10.
- Community Service- Community service time cannot be less than 160 hours and not more than 600.
- Intoxication Manslaughter- This second degree felony is assigned when a person operates a motor vehicle in a public place and is intoxicated and by reason of that intoxication causes the death of another by accident or mistake. In Texas, the punishments for intoxication manslaughter include:
- Fine- The fine must not exceed $10,000
- Jail- Jail time must be not less than two years and not more than 20.
- Community Service- A person who is found guilty of intoxication manslaughter must perform not less than 240 hours of community service and not more than 800.
Our Bedford drunk driving crash attorneys hope that the above information helps you better understand the penalties associated with a drunk driving crash. As an accident victim please know that you can sue a drunk driver. Contact an experienced personal injury trial lawyer at the Hart Law Firm for your free consultation. No gimmicks, no games, just honest legal advice. Call today. (817) 380-4888.