Go to navigation Go to content
Phone: (817) 380-4888
The Hart Law Firm

What Are the Consequences of a DWI in Dallas, Texas?

Aside from the possibility of causing a Dallas drunken driving crash, driving while under the influence of drugs or alcohol has legal ramifications as well. The penalties in Dallas are as follows:
1st conviction
  • Lose your license for 90-365 days
  • Jail time from 72 hours to 180 days (up to two years if driving with a child under the age of 15)
  • Fine of $2,000 (up to $10,000 if driving with a child under the age of 15)
  • DWI surcharge of $1,000/year for three years ($2,000/year if BAC is .16 or above)
2nd conviction
  • Lose your license for 180 days to two years
  • Jail time from 30 Days to one year (up to two years if driving with a child under the age of 15)
  • Fine up to $4,000 (up to $10,000 if driving with a child under the age of 15)
  • DWI Surcharge of $1,500/year for three years ($2,000/year if BAC is .16 or above)
  • Ignition interlock device is installed in your vehicle
3rd conviction
  • Lose your license for 180 days to two years
  • Jail time from two to ten years
  • Fine up to $10,000
  • Ignition interlock device is installed in your vehicle

Have You Or A Loved One Been Injured By A Drunk Driver?

If you've been injured by a drunk driver in Texas you need to speak with an experienced drunk driver injury attorney as soon as possible. Please contact us online or call our Colleyville office directly at 817.380.4888 to schedule your free consultation.

David Hart
Connect with me
Helping victims throughout Arlington, North Richland, Grapevine, Bedford, Hurst, Eules and all points between.

Live Chat