Go to navigation Go to content
Phone: (817) 380-4888
The Hart Law Firm

Why Texas’ Minimum Motorcycle Insurance Requirements May Not Protect You in a Crash

If you ride a motorcycle in Texas, you are required to purchase motorcycle insurance. You must have the following minimum liability coverage:

  • $60,000 for bodily injury per crash
  • $25,000 for property damage per crash
  • $30,000 for bodily injury coverage per person per crash

In addition, if you are 21 or older, you must have $10,000 in health insurance if you want to ride your cycle without wearing a helmet—which is legal, but a really bad idea that could cause you to suffer life-altering injuries in a crash.

Additional Insurance Coverage You May Need to Protect Yourself

Unfortunately, Texas’ minimum insurance coverage does not adequately protect you whether you cause a crash or are the victim of one. If you are the negligent party, you could be liable for substantially more than the liability coverage you would have. Even a relatively “minor” crash could result in the victim incurring well over $30,000 in medical bills. You should consider purchasing additional liability insurance to protect yourself in case you are in this situation.

In addition, you need to check your policy to see if it covers your passengers. Not all policies do. If not, you may want to purchase passenger liability coverage to cover your passenger if you are liable for his injuries.

Even if you are the victim of a crash caused by a negligent driver, you may need additional insurance coverage. Why? Although all motorists in Texas are required to have vehicle insurance, many still drive without insurance or have inadequate coverage to pay all your medical bills and lost wages. The following additional insurance could protect you:

  • Collision coverage. Collision coverage would pay for the repair or replacement of your bike if it is damaged or destroyed in a crash.
  • Uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage. If the other driver had no insurance or insufficient coverage to cover all of your losses, uninsured or underinsured coverage on your policy could compensate you for your injuries.
  • Medical payment coverage. If the negligent driver did not have sufficient coverage to pay all of your medical bills, this optional coverage could pay your medical costs.
  • Personal Injury Protection (PIP) coverage. This coverage would pay your medical bills, other expenses, and up to 80 percent of your lost wages up to the limits of your coverage. Depending on your policy, you may not have to pay these amounts back to the insurance company if you obtain a settlement from the negligent driver.

At the Hart Law Firm, we understand the importance of seeking compensation from all available insurance policies to fully compensate you for your injuries. We will fight for the compensation you deserve no matter how much coverage the policy provides. Start an online chat or call us at (817) 380-4888 to schedule a free consultation to learn how our experienced legal team can help you.

David Hart
Connect with me
Trial Lawyer

Live Chat